The Stuckeman School Celebrates Five Alumni National Fellowship Investitures

The Penn State Stuckeman School is proud to share five recent awards granted to architecture and landscape architecture alumni.

American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) Investitures

Adrian L. Smith, (BLA ’82) has won a fellowship from the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA). Election to the ASLA Council of Fellows is among the highest honors the ASLA bestows on members and is based on their works, leadership and management, knowledge, and service. Smith works with the City of New York Parks and Recreation, and he received his nomination from the New York Chapter. Smith focuses on inner-city recruitment and inspires high school students to enter the profession. Smith has woven together his interest in nature, the environment and design and his efforts and advocacy at the chapter and national level have resulted in concrete gains in how the public views landscape architects as increasingly vital to creating healthy, vibrant and resilient urban communities.

Read more about the 2018 ASLA Council of Fellows recipients.

Landscape architects’ services ASLA will formally recognize its 2018 Fellows at the ASLA 2018 Annual Meeting and EXPO in Philadelphia, October 19–22, 2018.

American Institute of Architects (AIA) Investitures

Four Stuckeman School alumni were elected to the AIA College of Fellows, which is one of the highest honors bestowed by the AIA.

Andrew Cupples (B.Arch ’75), is a principal in the Los Angeles office of the DLR Group, an international architecture firm, where he specializes in the design and planning of justice facilities. Over the span of 35 years, Cupples has taken a leadership role in the design and planning of more than 100 million square-feet of buildings in 45 states and abroad.

Lloyd Sigal (B.S. ’87, B.Arch ’88) is a principal at Kohn Pedersen Fox, an international architecture firm with offices located in New York, London, Shanghai, Hong Kong, Seoul, and Abu Dhabi. Since joining the firm in 1988, he has played a key role in designing some of the firm’s largest and most complex projects, including academic, residential, commercial, mixed-use, hospitality, and campus facilities. Sigal was a recipient of the College of Arts and Architecture Alumni Award in 2016.

Eric Goshow (B.Arch ’68) is a co-founding partner of Goshow Architects, a 30-person architecture, planning and design firm located in New York and established in 1978. In addition to being an active member of the AIA, he has assumed various leadership roles within the organization, including serving as president of the New York state chapter in 2013. In 2014, Eric and partner Nancy Aber Goshow, AIA member and Penn State alumna, established the Nancy Aber Goshow and F. Eric Goshow Sustainable Building Design Scholarship Award. The Goshows were co-recipients of the College of Arts and Architecture Alumni Award in 2012.

Gerald Warren Briggs (B.S.Arch ’74) is currently an award-winning director of architecture in the Washington, DC office of AECOM. He spent 11 years with SOM in the ’80s and early ’90s, and rose to associate partner and studio head of the DC office. In 1998 he took on the challenge of bringing top-notch architecture to URS. His award-winning A/E practice has served a myriad of government agencies, such as the U.S. Departments of State, Agriculture, Defense, Labor, Veterans Affairs, the General Services Administration, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, Central Intelligence Agency, National Security Agency, and the Architect of the Capitol. He has completed major public projects in 27 states and territories, and 16 countries abroad, many won in Design/Build competitions with construction costs over 100 million dollars. He continues to embrace his roles as technology leader, ptactice innovator, and design director.

The four will receive their fellowship medal at the Investiture of Fellows Ceremony, held in Saint Patrick’s Cathedral, as part of the AIA Conference on Architecture in New York on June 22, 2018.